Mile News

Herrera Defends, Kampf Recaptures BBTM Grand Prix Tour Titles

October 06, 2019

6th edition presented by Running Warehouse featured 5 stops awarding more than $110,000 plus a $10,000 GP purse

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. – At the BBTM Grand Prix Tour 2019 finale, The Navy Mile, on a cloudy Sunday morning in Washington, DC, Daniel Herrera, 26, from New Orleans, LA, won the men’s race, clocking 4 minutes, 5 seconds and earning $3000. With his first Tour victory, Herrera secured and defended his grand prix title with 30 points. In the women’s race at the 5th edition, Emily Lipari, 26, Poulsbo, WA, shattered the course record by 5 seconds with her 4:33, holding off Shannon Osika (same time), and the 2017-18 Tour champion also pocketed $3500 including a $500 course bonus.

In addition, at The Navy Mile presented by USAA, defending race champion Heather Kampf, 32, from Minneapolis, MN, finished 4th (4:43) to capture, with 30 points, her record 4th Tour crown (also 2014-16). The Tour 2019 champions took home $2000 each.

“With their consistent performances, kudos to Daniel Herrera & Heather Kampf for their well-earned, repeat BBTM Grand Prix Tour titles,” said Ryan Lamppa, BBTM Founder. “We thank & salute the five events, the athletes and presenting sponsor Running Warehouse for their support and promotion of the Tour.”

The Tour 2019 showcased five leading U.S. Mile events, and the overall prize purse for the Tour events exceeded $110,000 plus $8000 for the top 4 Grand Prix athletes. Per Tour event per gender, the top 6 scored points (10, 8, 6, 4, 2 and 1) with the top 4 scorers earning Grand Prix money ($2000, $1000, $600 and $400). At the Tour’s 6th edition, 23 men and 22 women scored grand prix points.

In addition, new this year: a $1000 bonus per gender ($500 and $500) will be awarded to the top two Tour Moments. From the top 4 Tour “Mile Moments” of the Year per gender, the top two Tour Moments will be awarded $500 each based on a vote of 25% Running Warehouse, 25% BBTM and 50% fans, and four voting fans of the Tour Moments, from a random draw, will also receive Running Warehouse gift cards as well as BBTM swag.

BBTM GP Tour 2019 champions & highlights:
10th Grand Blue Mile: USA Road Championship
Des Moines, IA, Tuesday, April 23
►Tripp Hurt (USA / CO), 4:03.9, first national title; blanket finish of three men
►Nikki Hiltz (USA / CA), 4:29.7, event record / first national title

Inaugural Virginia Mason Memorial Downtown Yakima Mile
Yakima, WA, Saturday, June 8
►Amos Bartelsmeyer (GER / WA), 3:52 (3:51.76), fastest Mile on Washington soil!
►Therese Haiss (USA / CA), 4:29

8th Fleet Feet Liberty Mile
Pittsburgh, PA, Friday, August 9
►Robert Domanic (USA / TX), 4:08, defended title
►Emily Lipari (USA / WA), 4:34

24th Aetna Falmouth Elite Mile
Falmouth, MA, Saturday, August 17
►Josh Thompson (USA / OR), 3:58.39
►Cory McGee (USA / CO), 4:29.51

5th The Navy Mile presented by USAA
Washington, DC, Sunday, October 6
►Daniel Herrera (USA / LA), 4:05, first Tour win secured Tour title defense
►Emily Lipari (USA / WA), 4:33, event record

BBTM GP Tour 2019 Final Standings
1) Daniel Herrera (LA), 30 points, $2000 + $500 Best Moment bonus
2) Tripp Hurt (CO), 24 points, $1000 + $500 Best Moment bonus
3) Amos Bartelsmeyer (GER / WA), 10 points, $333
    Robert Domanic (TX), 10 points, $333
    Josh Thompson (OR), 10 points, $333

1) Heather Kampf (MN), 30 points, $2000
2) Emily Lipari (WA), 20 points, $1000 + $500 Best Moment bonus
3) Eleanor Fulton (OR), 16 points, $600
4) Shannon Osika (MI), 12 points, $400

NOTE: Nikki Hiltz also won $500 Best Moment bonus.

BBTM Grand Prix Tour Champions (2014-19)
2014 Jack Bolas & Heather Kampf
2015 Jack Bolas & Heather Kampf
2016 Riley Masters & Heather Kampf
2017 Ben Blankenship & Emily Lipari
2018 Daniel Herrera & Emily Lipari
2019 Daniel Herrera & Heather Kampf

Visit or contact for more BBTM Grand Prix Tour news and information.

BELOW, left to right: Emily Lipari, Heather Kampf & Shannon Osika

CREDITS: Jeff Malet Photography

Tags: yakima mile (15) , the navy mile (29) , shannon osika (31) , ryan lamppa (110) , running warehouse (20) , liberty mile (16) , heather kampf (131) , grand blue mile (48) , falmouth mile (26) , emily lipari (51) , daniel herrera (24) , bbtm tour (196)

Facebook Comments

Return the Mile to prominence on the American & worldwide sports and cultural landscape by elevating and celebrating the Mile to create a movement.

Bring Back the Mile as the premier event in the sport, and increase interest in and media coverage of the Mile for both those who love the distance as well as the general public.

Bring Back the Mile to celebrate the storied distance and to recognize the people who made and make the Mile great and to promote Mile events and the next generation of U.S. Milers.

Bring Back the Mile to create a national movement for the Mile as America’s Distance,
to inspire Americans to run the Mile as part of their fitness program and to replace the 1600 meters at High School State Track & Field Meets across the country.

Become a Mile Maniac member or a BBTM sponsor today! Join us, and go Mile!

Join Us

Thanks for joining the movement and being a Mile Maniac. We'll keep you up to-date with our Mile wires as well as exclusive contests and opportunities. Help us spread the word by sharing our site and joining us on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram!